PUTTING GOD ON THE SHELF!!!

 

If you were to say to me, “Do you put GOD on the shelf”, my first response would be NO!!! I would NEVER put GOD on the shelf!!! Guess what???? I did just that last week!!! I can’t believe I did that!

Last week, actually, last several weeks, I wanted to spend time in fasting and praying and seeking the Lord during this very Holy Season. I kept telling myself that.

I have several bookcases filled with books and I NEVER pay much attention to them and only get in a mood every once in a great while. Mostly in the winter months or whenever I don’t feel like doing anything else. Last week I happened to look for a book to read and got caught up in it ALL WEEK LONG during my hours I was going to give to the Lord!! HOW DID THAT HAPPEN??!!

As it turned out, the very HOLY WEEK came and went without me giving the Lord very much attention at all, at least not the attention I had planned on giving HIM! I felt AWFUL!

You see, we can get side-tracked. We can get interrupted. We can put GOD on a shelf or cast aside. As bad as that sounds!

We must be more aware of the atmosphere and distractions that try and keep us involved with other things than what we intend to happen when we want to give GOD our time and attention! The devil will NOT sit back and allow us to do this without a fight or interruptions! He is clever and sneaky. He will make it attractive, or appear necessary, or even ‘an in the moment’ thing.

When we decide we are going to give the Lord a specific time we MUST be prepared and ready for these distractions or even the “I changed my mind” kind of thing! We cannot let him win!! GOD wants us and wants us to PRESS and SEEK HIM!! WE NEED THESE MOMENTS with HIM!! They will let us hear from HIM, let us KNOW HIS WILL, DRAW US CLOSER, and KEEP US FROM EVIL! HE WILL HEAR OUR CRIES, STRUGGLES and PAIN and WRAP HIS LOVING ARMS AROUND US and GIVE US PEACE, STRENGTH, HEALINGS and MIRACLES! We must take these special times with HIM!! WE NEED IT and HE WANTS US!

The next time you/I set ourselves to spend time with the Lord, let us be Cautious and Mindful NOT to PUT GOD on the SHELF!! HE deserves so much more than that! Don’t you agree??!!

 

 

Leave a comment